AWM Student Chapter at the University of Virginia

AWM Logo

This is the webpage for the Student Chapter of the Association of Women in Mathematics
at the University of Virginia. Email: Benjamin Hayes and Tai Melcher

Who are we?

The Association for Women in Mathematics is a national organization whose goals are encouraging women and girls to study and to have active careers in the mathematical sciences, and promoting equal opportunity and equal treatment of women and girls in the mathematical sciences. We are the student chapter of the AWM at the University of Virginia. Our goal is to provide for all students, regardless of gender identity, to be exposed to the world of professional mathematics, to obtain information about the varied career options in mathematics, to network with professional mathematicians, and to develop leadership skills. If you would like to participate in any of our events, check out our calendar and just show up! If you would like to be part of our mailing list, please send us a message ( Benjamin Hayes or Tai Melcher ) and we will send you a message whenever we schedule a new event. You are also welcome to email us with any questions or suggestions you might have.

Becoming a member of the AWM

As an AWM student chapter member benefit, you may now sign up for a complimentary AWM membership here. As a member of AWM, you will receive AWM listserv announcements, including links to the electronic version of each issue of the AWM Newsletter, and free registration for AWM conferences. Regular members can receive the print version of the AWM Newsletter six times per year.
Here are some instructions from the AWM:
On the application page select individual membership which leads you to the next step of the application. From there, select Student Chapter Membership from the drop down box of membership types. The next step will ask you for your basic contact information as well as the name of the student chapter you are a member of. Please select the appropriate chapter from the drop down list. The rest of the steps request more detailed contact and demographic information, you will be prompted to review your information and submit your application on the last step. After you submit your application, you will see a confirmation page stating that your membership application has been processed. If you have any issues signing up for your complimentary student chapter membership, please contact Amanda Leibert at

Mentorship Program

If you would like to participate in our mentoring program, please send us a message with some information about yourself and what kind of mentorship you are looking for or would like to offer. You might be an undergraduate student searching for research opportunities, or looking for someone to discuss career opportunities with. These include:

  • An undergraduate student being mentored by a graduate student
  • A graduate student being mentored by a more advanced graduate student
  • A graduate student being mentored by a faculty member who is not their advisor

Our chapter’s leadership

Past leadership