Recent awards

Past undergraduate awards (McShane, Floyd, and Putnam prizes)

Karen Parshall elected Fellow of AAAS

November 24, 2020
Karen Parshall

Congratulations to Commonwealth Professor of Mathematics and History Karen Parshall who was elected as a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, “for outstanding contributions to the history of mathematics, combined with extraordinary service to the mathematical and historical sciences.”

View details »

Ken Ono is Named Among the Most Influential Mathematicians

November 13, 2020
Ken Ono

Ken Ono, Thomas Jefferson Professor of Mathematics, has been named the 15th most influential mathematician by Academic Influence. Read more at UVA Research Development.

View details »


November 1, 2020
Jennifer Morse

Congratulations to Professor Jennifer Morse for being elected to the 2021 Class of Fellows of the AMS, “for contributions to algebraic combinatorics and representation theory and service to the mathematical community”.

View details »

Ken Ono awarded Honorary Professorship at IIT Guwahati

October 28, 2020
Ken Ono

We are pleased to announce that Professor Ken Ono was awarded Honorary Professorship at Indian Institute of Technology, Guwahati.

View details »

Rostislav Akhmechet wins Jefferson dissertation year fellowship

April 21, 2020
Ross Akhmechet

Congratulations to Ross Akhmechet who was awarded a Jefferson dissertation year fellowship for next year!

View details »

2020 Undergraduate Award Winners

April 20, 2020
Academical village

The Mathematics Department is pleased to announce the following prize winners for the 2019-2020 year:

  • E.J. McShane Prize:
    • Sebastian Haney
    • Trent Lucas
  • Edwin E. Floyd Prize:
    • Nathan Li
    • Zach Baugher

View details »

Sarasij Maitra wins 2020 All-University Graduate Teaching Award

April 18, 2020
Sarasij Maitra

We are happy to announce that Sarasij Maitra, a graduate student at Department of Mathematics, is one of this year’s winners for the All-University Graduate Teaching Award. This award honors students from all disciplines who have demonstrated exceptional achievement in undergraduate instruction, and include a $500 prize.

View details »

Paul Bourdon and Sara Maloni Win 2020 All-University Teaching Awards

April 9, 2020
Paul Bourdon and Sara Maloni

We are happy to announce that Sara Maloni and Paul Bourdon are receiving University of Virginia All-University Teaching Awards. They are among this year’s group of ten recipients. See the announcement.

View details »

Undergraduate Jiayi Wang received an award at the JMM 2020 in Denver

February 6, 2020
A vorticity simulation

Jiayi Wang received an “Outstanding Poster” award at the MAA Undergraduate Poster Session at the JMM 2020 in Denver, Colorado, for the work “Balance between the coherence of the vorticity direction and the vorticity magnitude in the fractional Navier-Stokes equations” (advisor Z. Grujic). A companion paper is at the arXiv

View details »

Ken Ono was elected Chair of the Mathematics Section of AAAS

January 30, 2020
Ken Ono

Ken Ono was elected Chair of the Mathematics Section of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

View details »

Popular Mechanics honors Ken Ono and Andrew Booker for the top two math breakthroughs in 2019

January 7, 2020
Ken Ono and Andrew Booker

In a recent Popular mechanics article UVa faculty member Ken Ono was honored along with co-authors Michael Griffin, Larry Rolen, and Don Zagier for their work on a problem directly related to the Riemann Hypothesis. UVa graduate and McShane Prize winner Andrew Booker was cited along with Andrew Sutherland for work leading to the long-sought integer solutions to $x^3 + y^3 + z^3 = 33$ and $x^3 + y^3 + z^3 = 42$. Booker will be the speaker at the Math Major dinner on April 16, 2020.

View details »

Leonid Petrov will receive the 2020 Bernoulli Prize for a joint paper

December 19, 2019
Alexei Borodin and Leonid Petrov

The Bernoulli Prize for an Outstanding Survey Article is to recognize authors of an influential survey publication in probability. The 2020 prize is given to Alexei Borodin (MIT) and Leonid Petrov (UVA) for the article Integrable probability: From representation theory to Macdonald processes. Probability Surveys, v.11:1-58, 2014.

View details »

Huanchen Bao and Weiqiang Wang Will Receive the 2020 Chevalley Prize

November 7, 2019
Huanchen Bao and Weiqiang Wang

The 2020 Chevalley Prize in Lie Theory will be awarded to Huanchen Bao and Weiqiang Wang for their fundamental contributions to the theory of quantum symmetric pairs.

View details »